terça-feira, 27 de janeiro de 2004

Acabo de descobrir que a definição do que é um continente não é tão bem definida quando pensava:

«5 continents
We have been taught in school (in the 60's) that there are five continents, Africa, America, Asia, Australia/Oceania and Europe, for instance symbolised in the five rings of the Olympic Games.

6 continents
However, there is no standard definition for the number of continents. In Europe, many students are taught about six continents, where North and South America is combined to form a single America.
These six continents are Africa, America, Antarctica, Asia, Australia/Oceania, and Europe.

7 continents
By most standards, there are a maximum of seven continents - Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Europe, North America, and South America. Many geographers and scientists now refer to six continents, where Europe and Asia are combined (since they're one solid landmass).
These six continents are Africa, Antarctica, Australia/Oceania, Eurasia, North America, and South America.»

e outra curiosidade do mesmo site:

«Greenland is not official a continent, it is the world's largest island, geographically it belongs to the North American continent, politically it belongs to Europe (Denmark).»

(argh. transformei-me num weblog de curiosidades?)

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário

Arquivo do blogue